Beekman repeats as ACC’s Defensive Player of the Year

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

Photo by Josie Drumheller, Virginia Athletics

Virginia’s Reece Beekman was named ACC Defensive Player of the Year, All-ACC Second Team and All-Defensive, the league announced Monday. In addition, Ryan Dunn was named to the All-ACC Honorable Mention and All-Defensive.

Beekman anchored the nation’s third-ranked defense, finishing second in the ACC in with 2.1 steals per game and guarding the opponents’ top perimeter player each game. Beekman became UVA’s all-time steals leader, passing Othell Wilson with three steals at Duke.

Beekman becomes the third ACC player and first since North Carolina’s John Henson (2011-12) to earn back-to-back ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Beekman earns his first All-ACC second-team honor after leading the ACC in assists (6.0 apg) and assist/turnover ratio (2.91), ranking 11th in field goal percentage (46.1 percent) and 15th in scoring (14.3 ppg). Beekman has tallied five 20-point efforts, including a career-high 21 points against Georgia Tech, Florida State, Notre Dame and Northeastern.

Dunn was named to the ACC All-Defensive Team after leading the league in blocks at 2.4 per game. Dunn registered three or more blocked shots in 11 games and five or more in six games. Dunn averaged 8.2 points, reaching double figures in 10 contests. He also ranks 11th in the ACC in rebounding (6.9 rpg) and 14th in steals (1.3 spg).

ACC Player of the Year RJ Davis (North Carolina) was joined on the All-ACC first team by PJ Hall (Clemson), Kyle Filipowski (Duke), Hunter Sallis (Wake Forest) and Blake Hinson (Pitt).

Joining Beekman on the second team were Armando Bacot (North Carolina), Judah Mintz (Syracuse), Norchad Omier (Miami) and Quienten Post (Boston College).

DJ Horne (NC State), Harrison Ingram (North Carolina), Jeremy Roach (Duke), Markus Burton (Notre Dame) and Sean Pedulla (Virginia Tech) were named to the All-ACC third team.

Culpeper native Maliq Brown (Syracuse) joined Beekman, Dunn, Bacot and Post on the ACC All-Defensive team.

2023-24 ACC Award Winners

Player of the Year – RJ Davis, North Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year – Reece Beekman, Virginia

Rookie of the Year – Markus Burton, Notre Dame

Sixth Man of the Year – Ishmael Leggett, Pitt

Most Improved Player – Ian Schieffelin, Clemson

Coach of the Year – Hubert Davis, North Carolina

2023-24 All-ACC Team

First Team

RJ Davis, North Carolina, 373

PJ Hall, Clemson, 363

Kyle Filipowski, Duke, 346

Hunter Sallis, Wake Forest, 292

Blake Hinson, Pitt, 280

Second Team

Armando Bacot, North Carolina, 271

Reece Beekman, Virginia, 263

Judah Mintz, Syracuse, 219

Norchad Omier, Miami, 172

Quinten Post, Boston College, 135

Third Team

DJ Horne, NC State, 109

Harrison Ingram, North Carolina,  91

Jeremy Roach, Duke, 85

Markus Burton, Notre Dame, 69

Sean Pedulla, Virginia Tech, 62

Honorable Mention

Joseph Girard III, Clemson,  54

Jamir Watkins, Florida State, 47

Jared McCain, Duke, 29

Ian Schieffelin, Clemson, 24

Miles Kelly, Georgia Tech, 16

Carlton Carrington, Pitt, 12

Brandon Huntley-Hatfield, Louisville, 10

Ryan Dunn,  Virginia, 10

Note: All-ACC Team points are determined on a 5-3-1 system (five points for first team, three points for second team, one point for third team).

All-Defensive Team

Reece Beekman, Virginia, 73 votes

Ryan Dunn, Virginia, 65

Maliq Brown, Syracuse, 48

Armando Bacot, North Carolina, 26

Quinten Post, Boston College, 21

All-Rookie Team

Markus Burton, Notre Dame, 73 votes

Jared McCain, Duke, 73

Carlton Carrington, Pitt, 65

Baye Ndongo, Georgia Tech, 60

Elliot Cadeau, North Carolina, 39