blue ridge bank

Dyson, McGovern named to Tewaaraton Watch List

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

women's lacrosseJunior Annie Dyson (Alexandria, Va.) and redshirt junior Ashlyn McGovern (Phoenix, Md.) were named to the 2021 Tewaaraton Award Watch List.

Dyson, a midfielder, is among the top in all categories for the Cavaliers. She is second on the team with 13 points, scoring 10 goals with three assists. Dyson has scored a goal in all five games with two hat tricks. She also leads the team with five caused turnovers, recording a career-high four against Louisville. Dyson is second on the team with 18 draw controls, grabbing a team-high eight in the win over then-No. 16 Virginia Tech, and has eight ground balls.

McGovern, a preseason Inside Lacrosse All-America selection, has stepped in as the top attacker for the Cavaliers for the second consecutive year. She is tied for the team lead with 11 goals, recording a goal in each of the four games she has played in. McGovern started the season with three consecutive hat tricks, including four goals in the win over ECU.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the award.

Players not named to this initial list will have opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions will be announced on April 2, before the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees on April 23. Nominees can be players from the watch lists or not from the watch lists, effectively allowing for a second round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced in early May. The Tewaaraton Award recipients will be chosen after the conclusion of the collegiate lacrosse season.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at , and


© | Charlottesville, VA 22911 | Site design by Augusta Free Press LLC

%d bloggers like this: