O’Ferrall earns First Team NCBWA Freshman All-America honors

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

Griff O’Ferrall (Photo: UVA Athletics)

Virginia first-year shortstop Griff O’Ferrall was named a First Team Freshman All-American by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America on Monday. O’Ferrall becomes the first Cavalier since Joe McCarthy in 2013 to land on the NCBWA Freshman All-America Team.

O’Ferrall was one of 10 position players on the first team and one of two shortstops to be recognized as freshman All-Americans. A total of five position players from the ACC were listed on the first team.

O’Ferrall started and led off all 58 games this season as a true freshman for the Cavaliers. He posted a .308 average 56 runs scored, two home runs and 39 RBI. He also swiped a team-best 17 bases, tied for the third most by a Cavalier freshman since 2004. O’Ferrall was recognized on the ACC All-Freshman team earlier this year and was one of six freshman to be included on the Brooks Wallace Award (Most Outstanding College Shortstop) midway through the year.

NCBWA 2022 Freshman All-America Team
First Team
C —
Ryan Campos, Arizona State
1B — Nick Kurtz, Wake Forest
2B — Travis Bazzana, Oregon State
3B — Carson DeMartini, Virginia Tech
SS — Griff O’Ferrall, Virginia
OF —
Keaton Anthony, Iowa
OF — Vance Honeycutt, North Carolina
OF — Treyson Hughes, Mercer               .
DH –– Tommy White, NC State
UT — Noah Sullivan, USC Upstate

SP — Chase Burns, Tennessee
SP — Drew Beam, Tennessee
SP — Drue Hackenberg, Virginia Tech
SP — Blake Morgan, Old Dominion
RP — Alonzo Tredwell, UCLA
RP — Brady Tygart, Arkansas
RP — Landon Kruer, Navy

Second Team
C —
Walker Janek, Sam Houston State
1B — Donovan Cash, Kennesaw State
2B — Logan Beard, Louisville
3B — Josh Pyne, Indiana
SS — Cody Schrier, UCLA
OF — Carter Mathison, Indiana
OF — Kennedy Jones, UNCG
OF — Harrison Povey, FGCU
DH — Hunter Hines, Mississippi State
UT — Braden Montgomery, Stanford

SP — Ryan Feczko, Davidson
SP — Garrett Horn, Liberty
SP — Ryan Gallagher, UCSB
SP — Carter Holton, Vanderbilt
RP — Ryan Brown, Oregon State
RP — Peyton Consigli, Canisius
RP — Conner Whittaker, Florida State