Rowing: No. 8 Hoos set for NCAA Championships this weekend

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

Photo: UVA Athletics

No. 8 Virginia will compete in the 2023 NCAA Rowing Championships Friday through Sunday at Cooper River Park in Pennsauken, N.J.  Live results and video streaming links will be available through and NCAA Division I action is set to begin at 9 a.m. on Friday.

Each division (Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight and Varsity Four) has four heats in the morning on Friday, with the top two from each heat moving on to Saturday’s semifinals. The remaining boats will race in a repechage to determine the final four semifinalists in each division.

Virginia’s Varsity Eight, which is seeded eighth, will be in action in the first heat at 9 a.m. UVA’s 11th-seeded Second Varsity Eight is in the third heat at 10:12 a.m., while the sixth-seeded Varsity Four is in the third heat at 11 a.m.

The semifinals begin Saturday at 8:12 a.m. with the V8, followed by the 2V8 and the V4, while the finals will take place on Sunday. Division I Grand (places 1-6) and Petite finals (places 7-12) begin at 9:24 a.m. with the final race of the weekend being the Varsity Eight Grand Final at 10:24 a.m.

The Cavaliers, who are making their 25th NCAA championship appearance, earned the Atlantic Coast Conference’s automatic NCAA bid after claiming their 13th consecutive league championship on May 13. The Cavaliers won four of five events at the ACC Championship, including the Second Varsity Eight, Third Varsity Eight, Varsity Four and Second Varsity Four.

Virginia placed ninth at the 2022 NCAA Rowing Championships with 82 points. UVA’s Second Varsity Eight placed sixth, while the Varsity Four and Varsity Eight finished eighth and 12th, respectively.

In their 24 NCAA Championship appearances in the last 26 years, the Cavaliers have finished in the top four 11 times (1997-2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2009-10, 2012, 2016) and have been runners-up three times (1999, 2005, 2007).

UVA captured NCAA team championships in 2010 and 2012. The Varsity Eight won the NCAA title in 2012, while the Second Varsity Eight won championships in 1998, 1999 and 2005. The Varsity Four claimed national championships in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2015.


Varsity Eight: Coxswain: ViVi Van Ingen, Stroke: Kate Kelly, 7: Eva Frohnhofer, 6: Lauren Benedict, 5: Leia Till, 4: Jenna Hajji, 3: Larkin Brown, 2: Lily Jarrett, Bow: Elsa Hartman

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Janet Conklin, Stroke: Lauren Jochims, 7: Paige Loh, 6: Catherine Williams, 5: Lauren Orr, 4: Riley Richardson, 3: Sarah Bradford, 2: Cillian Mullen, Bow: Sky Dahl

Varsity Four: Coxswain: Nora Grabcheski, Stroke: Sophia Coppola, 2: Meagan Goldsmith, 2: Kate McGee; Bow: Kelsey Gems