Women’s Basketball: ACC releases 2020-2021 Virginia schedule

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

The Atlantic Coast Conference released the 2020-2021 women’s basketball schedule on Wednesday (Nov. 11) for all 15 member institutions, including Virginia.

Television designations and the remaining game times will be released at a later date.

Non-Conference Schedule

Virginia will play four games prior to beginning ACC competition. The Cavaliers open the season at Central Florida on Wednesday, Nov. 25 before hosting a pair of opponents at John Paul Jones Arena: East Carolina on Sunday, Nov. 29 and James Madison on Thursday, Dec. 3. UVA closes the non-conference slate on Sunday, Dec. 6 at George Washington.

ACC Schedule

The Cavaliers will play a 20-game conference schedule, beginning with a Thursday, Dec. 10 home game against Boston College and ending with a Sunday, Feb. 28 game at John Paul Jones Arena against Virginia Tech. UVA will play six oppponents both home and away (Clemson, Duke, Florida State, NC State, North Carolina and Virginia Tech), four teams only at home (Boston College, Georgia Tech, Lousiville, Wake Forest) and four teams solely on the road (Miami, Notre Dame, Pitt and Syracuse).

Current John Paul Jones Arena Capacity Guidelines and Attendance

The current guidelines for sports venues provided by the Commonwealth of Virginia under the “Forward Virginia” plan (announced June 18) allow for the lesser of 50% occupancy of the facility or 1,000 patrons.

Women’s basketball season ticket holders and UVA students will receive communication about ticket and attendance options for the 2020-2021 season in the near future.

Virtual Meet the Team Days

There will be two virtual Women’s Basketball Meet the Team Days. The online events will be held on Sunday, Nov. 15 at 3:30 p.m. and Sunday, Nov. 22 at 3:30. The session on Nov. 15 will feature head coach Tina Thompson, assistant coach Walter Pitts and student-athletes in the freshmen class. The session on Nov. 22 will feature associate head coach Karleen Thompson, assistant coach Monica Wright Rogers and student-athletes in the sophomore, junior and senior classes.

Fans may watch and ask questions of the student-athletes via the women’s basketball Twitter and Facebook pages.

2020-2021 Virginia Women’s Basketball Schedule

Wednesday, Nov. 25          Virginia                @    UCF                          6 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 29               ECU                     @    Virginia                    1 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 3              JMU                     @    Virginia                    7 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 6                  Virginia                @    George Washington   2 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 10            Clemson               @    Virginia                    TBA

Sunday, Dec. 13                Virginia                @    Florida State              TBA

Sunday, Dec. 20                Virginia                @    Virginia Tech            TBA

DATE TBD                      Wake Forest         @    Virginia                    TBA

Sunday, Jan. 3                  Louisville             @    Virginia                    TBA

Thursday, Jan. 7                Virginia                @    Syracuse                    TBA

Thursday, Jan. 14               Virginia                @    NC State                    TBA

Sunday, Jan. 17                Georgia Tech       @    Virginia                    TBA

Thursday, Jan. 21            North Carolina    @    Virginia                    TBA

Sunday, Jan. 24                Florida State        @    Virginia                    TBA

Thursday, Jan. 28               Virginia                @    Clemson                    TBA

Sunday, Jan. 31                 Virginia                @    Pittsburgh                  TBA

Thursday, Feb. 4              Duke                    @    Virginia                    TBA

Sunday, Feb. 7                 Boston College     @    Virginia                    TBA

Thursday, Feb. 11              Virginia                @    Notre Dame               TBA

Sunday, Feb. 14                 Virginia                @    North Carolina           TBA

Thursday, Feb. 18            NC State              @    Virginia                    TBA

Sunday, Feb. 21                 Virginia                @    Miami                       TBA

Thursday, Feb. 25              Virginia                @    Duke                         TBA

Sunday, Feb. 28                Virginia Tech       @    Virginia                    TBA

 

Comments

© JerryRatcliffe.com | Charlottesville, VA 22911 | Site design by Augusta Free Press LLC