No. 15 Cavaliers claim 12th consecutive ACC Championship

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

rowingNo. 15 Virginia won four of five grand finals to claim its 12th consecutive ACC Rowing championship Saturday morning on Lake Hartwell at Clemson.

Virginia finished with 98 points followed by Syracuse (83), Duke (82), Clemson (60), Miami (52), Louisville (43), Notre Dame (29), Boston College (26) and North Carolina (21).

The Cavaliers have won 21 of the 22 ACC championship regattas and 86 of the 95 championship races.

“Every day I’m so proud of the character of this team and today so proud of them as racers,” Virginia head coach Kevin Sauer said. “Especially Syracuse and Duke were formidable opponents today and we are very fortunate to win this championship.  Many thanks to Clemson for hosting.”

UVA’s Third Varsity Eight started the grand finals by defeating runner-up Duke by over five seconds, 6:39.820-6:45.170. Clemson finished third at 6:51.306.

Duke topped UVA in the Second Varsity Four 7:11.587-7:16.043 and Syracuse, finished third at 7:21.519.

UVA’s Varsity Four (7:10.892) edged Duke (7:12.901) in a close Varsity Four race. Syracuse placed third at 7:16.046.

The Cavaliers’ Second Varsity Eight rallied past Syracuse 6:26.132-6:28.109. Duke finished third at 6:31.047.

In the premier race of the championship, Virginia’s Varsity Eight secured the team title by defeating runner-up Syracuse in a hotly-contested race 6:23.415-6:25.351. Duke placed third at 6:29.505.

UVA’s Varsity Eight was named ACC Crew of the Year and Sauer was named ACC Coach of the Year for the 14th time.

“We stepped up big when it mattered the most, individually and as a team,” UVA captains Liv Kimche and Abbie Bird added. “We are so proud of the grit this team shows every day and what we were able to do this weekend. Nothing has come easy for us this spring and this victory is exceptionally special.”

The Cavaliers return to action at the NCAA Rowing Championship on May 27-29 in Sarasota, Fla. The NCAA DI Rowing Selection Show is set for Tuesday, May 17 at 5 p.m. on