O’Ferrall honored as Brooks Wallace Award, Gold Glove winner

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

Photo: UVA Athletics

Virginia junior Griff O’Ferrall is the 2024 recipient of the Brooks Wallace Award, annually given to the nation’s top shortstop. He is the first Cavalier ever to win the award.

In addition, O’Ferrall was honored as one of nine members of the Division I 2024 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove team.

O’Ferrall was a finalist for the prestigious honor in each of the past two seasons and is the first ACC shortstop to be to take home the honor since 2017. The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this year. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died of leukemia at the age of 27.

As a junior, O’Ferrall played in all 63 games for the Cavaliers at short and batted .324 (90-for-64) with 20 doubles, five homers and 52 RBI. He led UVA with 17 stolen bases on 21 attempts. O’Ferrall is a two-time First Team All-ACC selection, a two-time First Team ABCA All-Region honoree.

O’Ferrall joined Ryan Zimmerman as the only Cavaliers to produce back-to-back 90-hit seasons. He has the most hits (270) and runs scored (196) of any three-year player in program history. O’Ferrall has started every game for UVA at shortstop since arriving on grounds as a freshman in 2022.

It marks the second-straight season and third time in program history that a UVA player has been a Gold Glove Award winner.

The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are selected by ABCA coaches committees at each level – NCAA Division I, II, II, NAIA, NJCAA & high school and have been awarded at the collegiate level since 2007.

From his shortstop position, O’Ferrall was charged with just four errors in 249 chances and owned a career-high .984 fielding percentage. He started all 186 possible games at shortstop in the last three seasons for Virginia.

2024: Griff O’Ferrall – Virginia
2023: Matt Shaw – Maryland
2022: Brooks Lee – Cal Poly
2021: Cal Conley – Texas Tech
2019: Grae Kessinger – Ole Miss
2018: Cadyn Grenier – Oregon State
2017: Logan Warmoth – North Carolina
2016: Sheldon Neuse – Oklahoma
2015: Dansby Swanson – Vanderbilt
2014: Trea Turner – NC State
2013: Alex Bregman – Louisiana State
2012: Zach Vincej – Pepperdine
2011: Brad Miller – Clemson
2010: Jedd Gyorko – West Virginia

C — Ariel Armas, San Diego
1B — Edgar Alvarez, Nicholls State
2B — Nick Gooden, Morehead State
3B — Wyatt Peifer, James Madison
SS — Griff O’Ferrall, Virginia
OF — Bryce Boettcher, Oregon
OF — Vance Honeycutt, North Carolina
OF — Ryley Johnson, East Carolina
P — Derek Clark, West Virginia

2010: Jarrett Parker
2023: Ethan O’Donnell
2024: Griff O’Ferrall