Shellenberger named 2022 Tewaaraton Award finalist

Courtesy UVA Media Relations


(© marcin kilarski/EyeEm –

Virginia attackman Connor Shellenberger (Charlottesville, Va.) has been named one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award.

Shellenberger’s recognition as a finalist marks the 11th instance in program history. Steele Stanwick, who became the third player in program history to win the award in 2011, was Virginia’s most recent top-5 finalist in 2012.

In addition to Shellenberger, Chris Gray (North Carolina), Logan Wisnauskas (Maryland), Brendan Nichtern (Army West Point) and Sam Handley (Penn) were also named finalist for the nation’s most-outstanding-player award.

The Tewaaraton recipients will be chosen at the conclusion of the 2022 college lacrosse season by selection committees comprised of premier college coaches who are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Up next, Shellenberger and the Cavaliers (11-3) return to action on Saturday (May 14), when it travels to eighth-seeded Brown (10-5) for the First Round of the 2022 NCAA Tournament. Opening faceoff is set for 7:30 p.m. on ESPNU.



jr logo

Make a one-time or recurring gift to support online below. Your gift is not tax-deductible. Thank you for your support of and the "Jerry Ratcliffe Show" podcast!