Wrestling: NCAA Championship brackets, seeds announced

Courtesy UVA Media Relations

Photo: UVA Athletics

The full brackets and seeds for the upcoming NCAA Wrestling Championships were announced on Wednesday, and the Cavaliers have four wrestlers in the field, led by No. 15 seed Justin McCoy who earned his fourth-straight NCAA Championship bid.

The NCAA Championships will be held at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Okla., from March 16-18.

McCoy earned his fourth consecutive berth to the NCAA Championships and is coming off a first-place finish at the ACC Championship this past weekend. He is the 14th four-time selection in the program’s history. Michael Battista is making his second straight appearance at the NCAA Championships, while Jarod Verkleeren earned his second career bid. Neil Antrassian is making his first appearance at the NCAA Championships.


149: No. 28 seed Jarod Verkleeren vs. No. 5 seed Paniro Johnson (Iowa State)

165: No. 15 seed Justin McCoy vs. No. 18 seed Max Mayfield (Northwestern)

184: No. 20 seed Neil Antrassian vs. No. 13 seed Lenny Pinto (Nebraska)

197: No. 25 seed Michael Battista vs. No. 8 seed Silas Allred (Nebraska)