UVA selected as 2025 NCAA Women’s Regional Golf Site

Courtesy UVA Media Relations


(© Kevin Carden – stock.adobe.com)

Virginia has been selected as the host for a 2025 Division I Women’s Golf Regional Championship site. The Cavaliers will be one of six regional sites in 2025 on May 5-7. The event will be held at Birdwood Golf Course, the home course for the Cavaliers.

The NCAA Division I Competition Oversight Committee recently approved two additional regional host sites for each of the 2023-2026 Division I Women’s Golf Championships years. Previously, four sites were set to host regional competitions in each of those seasons.

The Rawls Course in Lubbock Texas, hosted by Texas Tech, will be the other new regional site for the 2025 event.

Last November, the NCAA announced the move to a six-regional format effective with the 2022 spring championship, with Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, California, and the Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tennessee added as regional hosting sites for the 2022 championships. Already slated to host regional play May 9-11 in 2022 are The Championship Course at UNM (Albuquerque, New Mexico), U-M Golf Course, Karsten Creek Golf Club (Stillwater, Oklahoma) and Seminole Legacy Golf Club (Tallahassee, Florida).

Each of the six regional sites will feature 12 teams and six individuals, with the top four teams and top two individuals (not on an advancing team) qualifying for the championships.

With the move to six regional sites from the previous four-site format, 72 teams will still qualify for regional play, with the number of individuals not on an advancing team increasing from 24 to 36.

This will mark the first time Virginia will serve as host for an NCAA postseason golf regional.


Support JerryRatcliffe.com

jr logo

Make a one-time or recurring gift to support JerryRatcliffe.com online below. Your gift is not tax-deductible. Thank you for your support of JerryRatcliffe.com and the "Jerry Ratcliffe Show" podcast!